SOCHUM is one of the main GA committees; therefore, like the other main committees of the GA, it was established in 1947. And it follows the rules of the General Assembly, which is indicated in the Charter of the United Nations. The membership of the SOCHUM includes all 193 member states. In addition, non-member states and other entities recognized by the UN as permanent observers may attend and participate in meetings, but they cannot vote. As opposed to member states.